Nagaland Municipal Act 2001

Map of Nagaland
Nagaland Municipal Act 2001

Nagaland Municipal Act was passed by the state assembly of Nagaland in 2001. Under, the Nagaland Municipal Act 2001, first election for two municipal councils and 16 town council were held in 2004. Nagaland Municipal Act was later amended in 2006 incorporating 33 per cent reservation for women in accordance of article 243T of Constiution of India.

Municipal Councils of Nagaland
There are three municipal councils created under Nagaland Municipal Act.  According to the act, Municipal Councils are setup in those area with population more than 20000. The three municipal councils of Nagaland are

1. Kohima Municipal Council
2. Dimapur Municipal Council
3. Mokokchung Municipal Council

Town Councils of Nagaland
The town councils are setup where population is less than 20000, but not less than 5000. Originally, there were 16 town councils created under Nagaland Municipal Act, but with growing population and demand for higher status, four town committees have been upgraded to town councils.

1. Wokha Town Council
2. Zunheboto Town Council
3. Tuensang Town Council
4. Mon Town Council
5. Pfutsero Town Council
6. Peren Town Council
7. Medziphema Town Council
8. Chumukedima Town Council
9. Longleng Town Council
10. Tuli Town Council
11. Changtongya Town Council
12. Naginimora Town Council
13. Kiphire Town Council
14. Tseminyu Town Council
15. Phek Town Council
16. Jalukie Town Council
17. Shamator Town Council, Tuensang District
18. Noklak Town Council, Noklak District
19. Aboi Town Council, Mon District
20. Meluri Town Council, Phek District

Reference: Nagaland Municipal Act, 2001 (pdf)
Previous Post Next Post