List of Pre Independence Indian National Congress Sessions and Presidents (1885-1947)

Flag of India Adopted by Congress in 1931
Flag of India Adopted by Congress in 1931

1st Session Bombay 1885 WC Bonnerjee
2nd Session Calcutta 1886 Dadabhai Naoroji
3rd Session Madras 1887 Badruddin Tyabji
4th Session Allahabad 1888 George Yule
5th Session Bombay 1889 Sir William Wedderburn
6th Session Calcutta 1890 Pherozeshah Mehta
7th Session Nagpur 1891 P. Ananda Charlu
8th Session Allahabad 1892 WV Bonnerjee
9th Session Lahore 1893 Dadabhai Naoroji
10th Session Madras 1894 Alfred Webb
11th Session Pune 1895 Surendranath Banerjee
12th Session Calcutta 1896 Rahimatullah M. Sayani
13th Session Amraoti 1897 C. Sankaran Nair
14th Session Madras 1898Ananda Mohan Bose
15th Session Lucknow 1899 RC Dutt
16th Session Lahore 1900 NG Chandavarkar
17th Session Calcutta 1901 Dinshaw Eduljee Wacha
18th Session Ahmedabad 1902 Surendranath Banerjee
19th Session Madras 1903 Lal Mohan Ghosh
20th Session Bombay 1903 Sir Henry Cotton
21st Session Banaras 1905 Gopal Krishna Gokhale
22nd Session Calcutta 1906 Dadabhai Naoroji
23rd Session (Suspended) Surat 1907 Rash Behari Ghosh
23rd Session Madras 1908 Rash Behari Ghosh
24th Session Lahore 1909 Madan Mohan Malaviya
25th Session Allahabad 1910 Sir William Wedderburn
26th Session Calcutta 1911 Bishan Narayan Dar
27th Session Bankipore 1912 Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
28th Session Karachi 1913 Nawab Syed Mohammed Bahadur
29th Session Madras 1914 Bhupendra Nath Bose
30th Session Bombay 1915 Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
31st Session Lucknow 1916 Ambica Charan Mazumdar
32nd Session Calcutta 1917 Annie Besant
(Special Session) Bombay August, 1918 Syed Hasan Imam
33rd Session Delhi 1918 Madan Mohan Malaviya
34th Session Amritsar 1919 Motilal Nehru
35th Session Nagpur 1920 C. Vijayaraghavachariar
36th Session Ahmedabad 1921 Hakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for CR Das)
37th Session Gaya1922 Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
38th SessionKakinada1923Mohammad Ali Jouhar
(Special Session)DelhiSeptember, 1923Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
39th Session Belgaum 1924 MK Gandhi
40th Session Cawnpore 1925 Sarojini Naidu
41st Session Gawahati 1926 S. Srinivasa Iyengar
42nd Session Madras 1927 MA Ansari
43rd Session Calcutta Apr, 1929 Motilal Nehru
44th Session Lahore Dec, 1929 Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
45th Session Karachi 1931 Vallabbhai J. Patel
46th Session (Banned)Delhi1932Madan Mohan Malviya
47th Session Calcutta 1933 Nellie Sengupta
48th Session Bombay 1934 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
49th Session Lucknow 1936 Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
50th Session Faizpur 1937 Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
51st Session Haripura 1938 Subhash Chandra Bose
52nd Session Tripura 1939 Subhash Chandra Bose
53rd Session Ramgarh 1940 Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
54th Session Meerut 1946 JB Kripalani
55th SessionJaipur1948Pattabhi Sitaraimayya

Points to Remember
  1.  WC Bonnerjee was the first President to chair Indian National Congress session held in 1885.
  2. Badruddin Tyabji was the first Muslim President of Congress. He chaired 1887 Madras Session.
  3. George Yule was the first English President of Congress. He chaired 1888 Allahabad Session.
  4. In 1907, the Congress was divided into two groups after Surat Session. due to rising tensions between two fractions Moderates and Extremists. The Session was suspended due to skrimish between them
  5. In 1916, AC Majumdar became the first President of Congress after reunification of Congress following Surat Split.
  6. In 1917, Annie Besant became first female President of Congress. She chaired 1917 Culcutta Session.
  7. In 1918, Madan Mohan Malviya proposed Satyameva Jayate from Mundakopanishad as the slogan for Indian Independence movement. It was later adopted as the National Motto of India.
  8. Sarojini Naidu became first Indian female President of Congress. She chaired 1925 Kanpur Session.
  9. In 1923, Abul Kalam Azad at the age of 35 became youngest President of Congress.
  10. In 1924, MK Gandhi became President of Congress. He chaired the Belgaum Session.
  11. In 1928, Motilal Nehru chaired the Culcutta Session. He also inaugrated the All India Youth Congress.
  12. In 1929, Jawaharlal Nehru became the President of Congress. He passed the Poorna Swaraj Resolution by masting the Indian flag in 1929 Lahore Session.
  13. In 1937, for first time, a congress session was held in a village. The Faizpur session was chaired by the Jawaharlal Nehru.
  14. In 1938, Subhash Chandra Bose became the President of Congress. A National Planning Committe was chaired by the Jawaharlal Nehru.
  15. In 1939, Subhash Chandra Bose resigned after amid protest from MK Gandhi and Rajendra Prasad replaced him after the session.
  16. Pattabhi Sitaraimayya chaired the first Congress session in Free India.
Previous Post Next Post