Agroclimatic Zones of Uttar Pradesh

Agroclimatic Zones of Uttar Pradesh
Agroclimatic Zones of Uttar Pradesh
Uttar Pradesh is one of the large states of India. It occupies 9 percent of total India's landmass and its economy is agricultural based as 65% percent of total populace work either directly in agriculture sector or allied sector. Moreover, as we know, climate plays an important role in defining the production of agricultural commodities, it becomes important to learn about agroclimatic zones of the state. Henceforth, Uttar Pradesh has been divided into 9 agroclimatic zones which are

1. Tarai
Region: Rampur, Pilibhit, Bijnore and Parts of Bahraich, Shravasti, Moradabad, Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Saharanpur and Muzaffar Nagar districts
Rainfall: 1400 mm
Temprature: 5.5 - 38.4 °C
Soil: Alluvial and clayey alluvial
Climate: Humid

2. Western Plains
Region: Meerut, Bhagpat, Bulandshahar, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Muzfarnagar, Saharanpur
Rainfall: 800 mm
Temprature: 1.5 - 44.0 °C
Soil: Sandy and clayey soil
Climate: Humid

3. Mid Western Plains
Region: Moradabad, Bareilly, Badaun, Shahjahanpur
Rainfall: 1000 mm
Temprature: 4.5 - 46.0 °C
Soil: Loam to silty clay
Climate: Dry sub humid to semi arid

4. South Western Plains
Region: Agra, Aligarh, Etah, Firozabad, Hathras, Mainpuri, Mathura
Rainfall: 700 mm
Temprature: 4.0 - 47.0 °C
Soil: Alluvial calcareous
Climate: Semi arid

5. Central Plains
Region: Kanpur, Lucknow, Allahabad, Auraiya, Etawah, Farrukhabad, Fatehpur, Hardoi, Kannauj, Kaushambi, Pratapgarh, Sitapur, Unnao
Rainfall: 850 mm
Temprature: 5.5 - 45.0 °C
Soil: Alluvial calcareous, sandy loams
Climate: Dry sub humid to semi arid

6. Bundelkhand
Region: Jhansi, Chitrakoot, Banda, Hamirpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Mahoba
Rainfall: 870 mm
Temprature: 3.5 - 48.5 °C
Soil: Coarse loamy sand, red and black
Climate: Dry sub humid to dry arid

7. North Eastern Plains
Region: Bahraich, Balrampur, Basti, Deoria, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Lakhimpur, Maharajganj, Sant Kabir Nagar, Sharvasti, Siddharth Nagar
Rainfall: 1250 mm
Temprature: 5.0 - 44.0 °C
Soil: Sandy loam to loam
Climate: Moist sub humid to dry sub humid

8. Eastern Plains
Region: Faizabad, Azamgarh, Ambedkar Nagar, Ballia, Barabanki, Chandauli, Ghazipur, Mau, Sultanpur, Jaunpur, Varanasi
Rainfall: 1000 mm
Temprature: 5.5 - 41.5 °C
Soil: Light alluvial, calcareous clay
Climate: Dry sub humid to moist sub-humid

9. Vindhya
Region: Mirzapur, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Sonbhadra
Rainfall: 1100 mm
Temprature: 5.0 - 45.0 °C
Soil:    Sandy loam red, yellow clay
Climate: Dry sub humid to moist sub-humid

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post