Agroclimatic Zones of Assam

Agroclimatic Zones of Assam
Agroclimatic Zones of Assam
On the basis of Planning Commission's classification of agroclimatic zones of India, Assam falls in the Eastern Himalayan Region. More specifically in subzone four and five of the Eastern Himalayan Region along with Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, Mizoram and parts of West Bengal. However, agroclimatic zones of Assam can be again classified at state level on the basis of rainfall, topography, temperature, and soil characterstics, the area of Assam can be divided into six agroclimatic zones. These six agroclimatic zones of Assam are

1. North Bank Plains
Districts: Darrang, Sonitpur, Lakhimpur, Dhemaji, Biswanath
Net Cropped Area: 536598 hectares
Cropping Intensity: 163&

2. Upper Brahmaputra Valley
Districts: Golaghat, Jorhat, Sivasagar, Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Charaideo, Majuli
Net Cropped Area: 620320 hectares
Cropping Intensity: 131%

3. Central Brahmaputra Valley
Districts: Nagaon, Marigaon, Hojai
Net Cropped Area: 327637 hectares
Cropping Intensity: 126%

4. Lower Brahpamutra Valley
Districts: Goalpara, Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, Kamrup, Nalbari, Barpeta, South Salmara-Mankachar
Net Cropped Area: 929757 hectares
Cropping Intensity: 150%

5. Barak Valley Zone
Districts: Cachar, Karimganj, Hailakandi
Net Cropped Area: 241715 hectares
Cropping Intensity: 142%

6. Hill Zone
Districts: North Cachar Hills, Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong
Net Cropped Area: 154570 hectares
Cropping Intensity: 165%

Map Resource: Survey of India

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post