List of Governors of Tamil Nadu

List of Governors of Tamil Nadu
The Governor of Tamil Nadu is the constitutional head of Tamil Nadu. He is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the President's pleasure.

The seat was established on 6 May 1946 when Tamil Nadu was known as Madras Presidency under British Rule. Lieutenant-General Sir Archibald Edward Nye was the first Governor of the Madras Presidency. After Independece of India, Maharaja Sir Krishna Kumarasinhji Bhavsinhji became the first Governor of Tamil (then known as Governor of Madras State).

On 14 January 1969, Madras was rechristinized as Tamil Nadu (Land of Tamils). Sardar Ujjal Singh became then Governor of Tamil Nadu.

Banwarilal Purohit is the current Governor of Tamil Nadu. He joined the office on 6 October 2017.

Surjit Singh Barnala is the only appointed Governor to have served two terms in office (24 May 1990–15 February 1991 and 3 November 2004–31 August 2011). He is also the longest serving Governor of Tamil Nadu in a single term and as whole.

#Name (Notes)Took ChargeLeft Charge
1Lieutenant-General Sir Archibald Edward Nye6 May 19467 September 1948
2Maharaja Sir Krishna Kumarasinhji Bhavsinhji7 September 194812 March 1952
3Sri Prakasa12 March 195210 December 1956
4A. J. John, Anaparambil10 December 195630 September 1957
5Pakala Venkata Rajamannar (acting)1 October 195724 January 1958
6Bhishnuram Medhi24 January 19584 May 1964
7Maharaja Sir Jayachamaraja Wodeyar Bahadur4 May 196424 November 1964
8P. Chandra Reddy (acting)24 November 19647 December 1965
9Maharaja Sir Jayachamaraja Wodeyar Bahadur7 December 196528 June 1966
10Sardar Ujjal Singh (acting till 16 June 1967)28 June 196627 May 1971
11Kodardas Kalidas Shah27 May 197116 June 1976
12Mohan Lal Sukhadia16 June 19768 April 1977
13P. Govindan Nair (acting)9 April 197727 April 1977
14Prabhudas Patwari27 April 197727 October 1980
15M. M. Ismail (acting)27 October 19804 November 1980
16Sadiq Ali4 November 19803 September 1982
17Sundar Lal Khurana, IAS (Retired)3 September 198217 February 1988
18P. C. Alexander, IAS (Retired)17 February 198824 May 1990
19Surjit Singh Barnala24 May 199015 February 1991
20Bhishma Narain Singh15 February 199131 May 1993
21Marri Chenna Reddy31 May 19932 December 1996
22Krishan Kant (additional charge)2 December 199625 January 1997
23M. Fathima Beevi25 January 19973 July 2001
24C. Rangarajan (additional charge)3 July 200118 January 2002
25P. S. Ramamohan Rao, IPS (Retired)18 January 20023 November 2004
26Surjit Singh Barnala3 November 200431 August 2011
27Konijeti Rosaiah31 August 201130 August 2016
28C. Vidyasagar Rao (additional charge)2 September 20166 October 2017
29Banwarilal Purohit6 October 2017Incumbent
Previous Post Next Post