List of Governors of Sikkim

List of Governors of Sikkim
List of Governors of Sikkim
The Governor of Sikkim is the constitutional head of Sikkim. He is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the President's pleasure.

The seat was established on 16 May 1975 when Kingdom of Sikkim joined the Union of India. B. B. Lal was the inaugral holder of the office. He was in the office from 16 May 1975 to 9 January 1981. Ganga Prasad is the current Governor of Sikkim. He took the charge of office on 26 August 2018.

#NameTook ChargeLeft Charge
1B. B. Lal16 May 19759 January 1981
2Homi J. H. Taleyarkhan10 January 198117 June 1984
3Kona Prabhakar Rao18 June 198430 May 1985
4Bhishma Narain Singh (additional charge)31 May 198520 November 1985
5T.V. Rajeswar21 November 19851 March 1989
6S.K. Bhatnagar2 March 19897 February 1990
7Radhakrishna Hariram Tahiliani8 February 199020 September 1994
8P. Shiv Shankar21 September 199411 November 1995
9K.V. Raghunatha Reddy (additional charge)12 November 19959 February 1996
10Chaudhary Randhir Singh10 February 199617 May 2001
11Kidar Nath Sahani18 May 200125 October 2002
12V. Rama Rao26 October 200212 July 2006
13R.S. Gavai (acting)13 July 200612 August 2006
14V. Rama Rao13 August 200625 October 2007
15Sudarshan Agarwal25 October 20078 July 2008
16Balmiki Prasad Singh9 July 200830 June 2013
17Shriniwas Dadasaheb Patil1 July 201326 August 2018
18Ganga Prasad26 August 2018Incumbent

Previous Post Next Post