List of Current Indian Governors and Lieutenant Governors (Updated)

Governor and lieutenant governors/administrator are the constitutional head of state and union territory. They are appointed by the President for a term of five years and holds office at the President pleasure, which means his or her term can be suspended without completing the five year or further extended. Their role is quite similar to the President of India on the state level. They are de jure head of the state and all executive actions are taken in their name. They must act on the advice of the elected council of ministers, headed by the chief minister, which thus holds de facto executive authority at the state-level. However, the Constitution of India empowers the governor to act upon his or her own discretion, such as the ability to appoint or dismiss a ministry, recommend President's rule, or reserve bills for the President's assent.

As earlier mentioned Governer and lieutenant governers/administrator are the constitutional head of state and union territory, and they have similar power and authority. Though, the major difference between them is the process of their appointments. lieutenant governors/administrator appointed are either IAS officers/retired judges of courts (except in the case of Chandigarh, where Governor of Punjab acts as the lieutenant governor of union territory). Another minor difference, despite similar nature of work, lieutenant governers/administrator are ranked lower than governor of the state in order or precedence.

State/UTNameTook Office
Current Governers of the State
Andhra PradeshE. S. L. Narasimhan28-Dec-09
Arunachal PradeshB. D. Mishra3-Oct-17
AssamJagdish Mukhi10-Oct-17
BiharLalji Tandon23-Aug-18
ChhattisgarhAnandiben Patel15-Aug-18
GoaMridula Sinha31-Aug-14
GujaratOm Prakash Kohli16-Jul-14
HaryanaSatyadev Narayan Arya25-Aug-18
Himachal PradeshAcharya Dev Vrat12-Aug-15
Jammu and KashmirSatya Pal Malik23-Aug-18
JharkhandDraupadi Murmu18-May-15
KarnatakaVajubhai Vala1-Sep-14
KeralaP. Sathasivam5-Sep-14
Madhya PradeshAnandiben Patel23-Jan-18
MaharashtraC. Vidyasagar Rao30-Aug-14
ManipurNajma Heptulla21-Aug-16
MeghalayaTathagata Roy25-Aug-18
MizoramKummanam Rajasekharan29-May-18
NagalandPadmanabha Acharya19-Jul-14
OdishaGaneshi Lal29-May-18
PunjabV. P. Singh Badnore22-Aug-16
RajasthanKalyan Singh4-Sep-14
SikkimGanga Prasad26-Aug-18
Tamil NaduBanwarilal Purohit6-Oct-17
TelanganaE. S. L. Narasimhan2-Jun-14
TripuraKaptan Singh Solanki25-Aug-18
Uttar PradeshRam Naik22-Jul-14
UttarakhandBaby Rani Maurya26-Aug-18
West BengalKeshari Nath Tripathi24-Jul-14
Current lieutenant governors and administrators of union territories
Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar IslandsDevendra Kumar Joshi8-Oct-17
Administrator of ChandigarhV. P. Singh Badnore22-Aug-16
Administrator of Dadra and Nagar HaveliPraful Khoda Patel30-Dec-16
Administrator of Daman and DiuPraful Khoda Patel29-Aug-16
Lieutenant Governor of DelhiAnil Baijal31-Dec-16
Administrator of LakshadweepFarooq Khan6-Sep-16
Lieutenant Governor of PuducherryKiran Bedi29-May-16
Previous Post Next Post