Celebrating Excellence: Highlights from the Hockey India Awards 2023

Image of Hockey India Awards 2023 - Celebrating Excellence: Highlights from the Prestigious Event
Celebrating Excellence: Highlights from the Hockey India Awards 2023

The prestigious Hockey India Awards 2023 took place in New Delhi on March 31, 2024, commemorating the stellar performances and invaluable contributions of Indian hockey players throughout the previous year. The event served as a platform to honor the remarkable achievements across various categories, showcasing the talent and dedication within the Indian hockey fraternity.

Player of the Year Awards:

  • Men's Player of the Year: Recognized for his exceptional prowess, Hardik Singh, the vice-captain of the Indian men's team, clinched the Player of the Year title. His pivotal role in securing the bronze at the Tokyo 2023 Olympics and the gold at the Asian Games 2023 highlighted his unwavering commitment to excellence.
  • Women's Player of the Year: Salima Tete, an Olympian, was bestowed with the Player of the Year award for her instrumental role in guiding the Indian women's team to a bronze medal at the Asian Games in Hangzhou, showcasing her exceptional talent and leadership on the field.

Other Notable Awards:

  • Hockey India Lifetime Achievement Award: Ashok Kumar, a revered figure in Indian hockey and a Munich 1972 Olympic bronze medalist, was honored with the prestigious Hockey India Lifetime Achievement Award, paying tribute to his significant contributions to the sport.
  • Goalkeeper of the Year: PR Sreejesh received the esteemed Hockey India Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year, acknowledging his outstanding performance and remarkable saves throughout the year.
  • Defender of the Year: Harmanpreet Singh was the recipient of the Hockey India Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year, recognizing his exceptional defensive skills and strategic prowess on the field.
  • Midfielder of the Year: Hardik Singh also clinched the Hockey India Ajit Pal Singh Award for Midfielder of the Year, underscoring his versatility and invaluable contributions to the team's midfield.
  • Forward of the Year: Abhishek was honored with the Hockey India Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year, showcasing his remarkable goal-scoring abilities and offensive prowess.

Milestones and Team Felicitations:

The event also celebrated significant milestones achieved by players, including PR Sreejesh's 300th international cap and Manpreet Singh's remarkable feat of completing 350 international caps for the Indian men's hockey team. Additionally, Savita Punia and Harmanpreet Singh were recognized for reaching the milestones of 250 and 200 international caps, respectively. The achievements of the Hangzhou Asian Games gold-medal-winning Indian men's team and the bronze-medal-winning Indian women's hockey team were also commemorated, highlighting their collective efforts and outstanding performance on the international stage.

Upcoming Player Awards:

Recognizing the potential and talent of young players, Deepika Soreng was honored with the Hockey India Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21), while Araijeet Singh Hundal received the Hockey India Jugraj Singh Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Men – Under 21), reflecting the promising future of Indian hockey.

About Hockey India:

Established in May 2009, Hockey India serves as the governing body for field hockey in India, playing a pivotal role in promoting and organizing national field hockey tournaments. Recognized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Indian Olympic Association (IOA), Hockey India is committed to selecting and nurturing talent for international competitions, ensuring the continued growth and success of Indian hockey on the global stage.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post