List of Chief Ministers Who Became Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi
Narendra Modi is the 6th such Prime Minister of India who has served as Chief Minister of any Indian State
Prime Minister Narendra Modi is not the first Prime Minister of India who has also served Chief Minister of an Indian State. There are five more Chief Ministers other than him who also climbed up the ladder to became the Prime Minister of India. Moraji Desai was the first person to do so. He was eventually first Gujarati Chief Minister (then part of Bombay) to become Prime Minister of India.

List of Chief Ministers who became Prime Minister of India
S.No.NameStateCM Tenure/sPM Tenure/s
1Moraji DesaiBombay StateFeb 1952-Nov 1956March 1977-July 1979
2Charan SinghUttar PradeshApril 1967-Feb 1968 and Feb-Oct 1970July 1979-January 1980
3VP SinghUttar PradeshJune 1980-June 1982Dec 1989-Nov 1990
4PV Narasimha RaoAndhra PradeshSept 1971-January 1973June 1991-May 1996
5HD Deve GowdaKarnatakaDec 1994-May 1996June 1996-April 1997
6Narendra ModiGujaratOct 2001-May 2014May 2014-Incumbent
Previous Post Next Post