First in Uttarakhand

Deer in Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand
Jim Corbett National Park (First National Park of India)
  1. First Freedom Fighter from Uttarakhand: Kalu Mehra
  2. First Freedom Fighter Jailed from Uttarakhand: MS Mehta
  3. First Woman Freedom Fighter Jailed from Uttarakhand: Bishni Devi Shah
  4. First Female Leader of Chipko Aandolan: Gaura Devi

Polity and Administration
  1. First Governor of Uttarakhand: Surjit Singh Barnala
  2. First Female Governor of Uttarakhand: Margaret Alva
  3. First Chief Minister of Uttarakhand: Nityanand Swami
  4. First President's Rule in Uttarakhand: 27 March 2016 to 21 April 2016 (25 Days)
  5. First Leader of Opposition in Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha: Indira Hridayesh
  6. First Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha Election: 2002
  7. First Elected Chief Minister of Uttarakhand: ND Tiwari
  8. First Speaker of Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha: Prakash Pant
  9. First Deputy Deputy Speakers of Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha: Vijaya Barthwal
  10. First Pro tem Speaker of Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha: Qazi Muhammad Muhiuddin
  11. First Chief Justice of Uttarakhand High Court: Ashok Desai
  12. First Female Member of Uttarakhand PSC: Sudha Pandey
  13. First Female Mayor of Dehradun Muncipal Corporation: Manorama Sharma Dobriyal
  14. First Chairman of Uttarakhand ST/SC/OBC Commission: Girish Lal Tamta
  15. First Chairperson of Uttarakhand Women's Commission: Santosh Chauhan
  16. First Army Chief from Uttarakhand: Bipin Chandra Joshi
  17. First Chief of Naval Staff from Uttarakhand: Devendra Kumar Joshi
  18. First Female Director General of Police of Uttarakhand/India: Kanchan Chaudhary Bhattacharya

  1. First Woman to Scale Mount Everest from Uttarakhand/India: Bichendri Pal
  2. First Dronacharya Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Hansa Manral
  3. First medal recipient at Commonwealth Games from Uttarakhand: Hari Singh (1958)
  4. First medal recipient at Asian Games from Uttarakhand: Hari Singh
  5. First International Woman Cricketer from Uttarakhand: Ekta Bisht

  1. First Ramon Magsaysay Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Chandi Prasad Bhatt (1982)
  2. First Padma Vibhushan Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Binode Bihari Mukherjee (1974)
  3. First Padma Bhushan Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Mulk Raj Chopra (1967)
  4. First Padma Shri Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Sukhdev Pande (1956)
  5. First Female Padma Bhushan Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Bichendri Pal (2019)
  6. First Bharat Ratna Awardee from Uttarakhand: Govind Ballabh Pant
  7. First Jnanpith Award Winner from Uttarakhand: Sumitra Nandan Pant (1968)
  8. First National Bravery Award recipient: Harish Rana (2003)
  9. First Paramvir Chakra recipient from Uttarakhand/India: Major Somnath Sharma
  10. First Ashoka Chakra recipient from Uttarakhand: Bhavani Dutt Joshi

Media, Arts and Literature
  1. First Hindi Newspaper from Uttarakhand: Garhwal Samachar
  2. First Kumaoni Newspaper from Uttarakhand: Almora Akhbar
  3. First Garhwali Newspaper from Uttarakhand: Garhwali
  4. First English Newspaper from Uttarakhand: The Hills
  5. First Daily Newspaper from Uttarakhand: Pravatiya
  6. First Kumaoni Poet: Gumani Pant

  1. First Engineering College in Uttarakhand/India/Asia: Thomason College of Civil Engineering (started in 1847, later renamed to Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee)
  2. First Agricultural University of Uttarakhand: G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology

  1. First National Park in Uttarakhand/India: Jim Corbett National Park
  2. First UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Uttarakhand: Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks (1988)
Previous Post Next Post