30+ Incredible Waterfalls of Kerala

Athirapalli Waterfalls/Image Credit: SK Siddhartthan
Adyanpara falls
Adyanpara falls is a cascading waterfall located in the Kurmbalangod village of Nilambur Taluk in Malappuram district. Its height is about 300 feet and surrounding area is known as one of bird hotspots, especially for seeing migratory birds.

Alakapuri falls
Alakapuri falls can be located in the foothills of Western Ghats near Kerala-Karnataka border in Kanjirakkolly of Kannur district. It has three phases. First phase is called Elappara waterfalls, second phase is called Alakapuri waterfalls and the third is the biggest of them all. The surrounding area is filled with "Neelakurinji", which blossoms in every 8 to 12 years. The Nilgiri Hills, which literally means the blue mountains, got their name from this purplish blue flower plant of Neelakurinji.

Aruvikkuzhi falls
Aruvikkuzhi is a beautiful cascading waterfall located in Kumarakom in Kottayam district. The height of this waterfall is about 100 ft. One can spot another waterfall, the Maramala falls, nearby.

Athirappilly falls
Athirappally falls is located at the entrance to Sholayar ranges in Athirappilly Panchayat in Chalakudy Taluk of Thrissur. It is about 80 feet high and known for its breathtaking beauty. It later joins the Chalakkudy River in its course.

Aripara falls
Aripara falls lies in Anakkampoyil village near Thiruvambadi town in Kozhikode district. The water of Aripar falls merges with Iruvanjippuzha river.

Attukad falls
Attukad falls lies between Munnar and Pallivasal in Idukki district. It is about 100 feet high and a popular picnic spot among locals.

Charpa Falls
Charpa Falls is a waterfall located on the west-flowing Chalakudy River in Athirappilly village of Thrissur. It is a popular stopover for tourists who are visiting the Athirappilly and Vazhachal Falls.

Chellarkovil falls
Chellarkovil falls lies near Kerala-Tamilnadu border in the Chellarkoil village of Idukki district. Interestingly, its water starts to fall from Kerala and touches the land in Tamil Nadu.

Cheeyappara falls
Cheeyappara water fall is located on Kochi-Madurai highway (NH 49) in Idukki district. It is a seven step cascading waterfall and a real treat for the eyes. One can spot the Great Hornbill, known locally as Malamuzhakki Vezhambal here. It is also the state bird of Kerala.

Chethalayam falls
Chethalayam falls lies 12 kilometers ahead of Sulthan Bathery in Wayanad, near Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary. It is one of the popular destination among bird spotters.

Dhoni Waterfalls
Dhoni waterfalls lies 15 km ahead of Palakkad town on Palakkad-Kollengode route in Palakkad district. It is not accessible through motor vehicle and one have to trek 4 km to see the waterfalls. One also need to pay an entry fee over there.

Kaalakkayam falls
Kaalakkayam falls is located in the forests near Idinjaar in Thiruvananthapuram District. It is part of the Mankayam stream that originates from the Agasthyavanam forest.

Kanthapara falls
The Kanthanpara waterfalls is situated in the south-east of Kalpetta town, around 8 km from Meppadi, Wayanad. It is 30 metres high and a popular picnic spot among locals.

Keezharkuth falls
Keezharkuthu falls, also known as the Rainbow waterfalls, is located in Kaithappara Udumbannoor, about 25 kms from Thodupuzha in Idukki district. It cascade down from the height of 200 ft.

Kumbhavurutty falls
Kumbhavurutty Waterfall lies near Kerala-Tamil Nadu border in Aryankavu village of Kollam.

Madatharuvi falls
Madatharuvi is a stream that joins Pampa River near a place called Ranni in Pathanamthitta district. It consists of a series of waterfalls and rapids that pass through pristine tropical forests.

Mankayam falls
Mankayam boasts two waterfalls named Kalakayam and Kurisadi located in Palode village of Nedumangad Taluk near the Capital City of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram. These two waterfalls are popular picnic spots among city folks.

Manalar Waterfalls
Manalar Waterfalls is located in the Achankovil village of Kollam district. It is about 112 km away from the Kollam city.

Meenmutty falls
Meenmutty Falls is a 3-tier waterfall with a height of 300 metres. It is Kerala's second largest waterfall and can be accessed by 2 km trek in Ooty Jungle from the Wayanad-Ooty road.

Meenvallam falls
Meenvallam waterfalls is a hidden gem of Palakkad and located 8 km deep inside the forests from Thuppanad Junction on the Palakkad-Manarkkad Road (NH 223). The waterfall can be accessed only by trek and its surrounding area is part of the Silent Valley National Park.

Mulamkuzhi falls
Mulamkuzhi waterfall is located in Mulamkuzhi village of Malayattoor Taluk in Ernakulam. It originates from Mulamkuzhi river and flows through the hill ranges.

Nyayamkad falls
Nyayamkad waterfall lies 10 km ahead of Munnar on Munnar-Rajamala route in Idukki district. It is one of the popular tourist destination among the locals.

Oliyarik Waterfalls
Oliyarik Waterfalls is a hidden gem of Kollam. It is situated near Anchal in Kollam district and lies 55 km away from Kollam city.

Palaruvi falls
The Palaruvi falls is a horsetail type waterfall with a total height of 91 metres (299 ft). It lies across the Kallada River in Aryankavu village of Punalur Taluk in Kollam district. The word Palaruvi literally means stream of milk and is said to have medicinal property.

Pattathippara Falls
Pattathippara Falls is a cascade waterfall that lies in Pananchery village of Thrissur district. As of now, there is a ban on the entry into waterfall surrounding area.

Perunthenaruvi Falls
Perunthenaruvi Falls lies 36 km ahead of Pathanamthitta town in Vechoochira village of Ranni taluk. It has two ends. One is known as Kudamurutty and other is Vechoochira. The water later merges with Pamba River

Vazhachal Falls
Vazhachal Falls is another waterfall on the west-flowing Chalakudy River near the Vazhachal Forest and lies in Athirappilly village of Thrissur district.

Thusharagiri Falls
Thusharagiri Falls lies in Kozhikode district at the confluence of two streams originating from the Western Ghats to form the Chalippuzha River. It is three phase waterfall. First phase is known as Thenpara falls (75 m high), second phase is known as Erattumukku falls and the third phase is known as Mazhavil Chattam falls.
Previous Post Next Post