President's Rule in Himachal Pradesh

Rashtrapati Bhawan Forecourt
President's Rule in Himachal Pradesh
Himachal Pradesh has came under the President's Rule twice. First President Rule was imposed for 53 days from 30tWQApril 1977 to 22nd June 1977 and second second President's rule was imposed for 353 days from 15th December 1992 to 3rd December 1993.

First President's Rule
The decade of 1970s was the decade of chaos in Indian Politics. In 1977, Dr. YS Parmar stepped down from the post of Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh sensing the blacklash of people due to National Emergency imposed by the Government of India. Thakur Ramlal was elected as the second Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on 28 January 1977. However, due to political chaos, both in centre and state, the government of Thakur Ramlal fell and President’s Rule was imposed. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was the President of India at that time. The President Rule came to an end at the end of June 1977 and for the first time the power came into the hands of Janta Party. It won all four seats in General Election and 54 out of 68 seats in Assembly Election. As a result Shanta Kumar became the first Non-Congress Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on 22 June 1977. He continued to work as the Chief Minister of the state till 14th February 1980.

Second President's Rule
The second President's Rule in Himachal Pradesh was imposed as the aftermath of Babri Masjid Demolition in Uttar Pradesh and dismissal of BJP led Himachal Pradesh Government. It is said Central Government led PV Narsimha Rao used Babri Masjid Demolition as an excuse to remove all BJP led state government on the pretext of bad government as UP Government at that time was led by BJP. The Governor Virender Verma resigned on 29 January 1993. The successive Governors Bali Ram Bhagat and Gulsher Ahmed Khan also resigned from their post on 10 February 1993 and 26 November 1993 respectively. Surender Nath, then Governor of Punjab, was given additional charge of the Governor of Himachal on 26th November 1993.
Previous Post Next Post