List of Districts in Kerala

Districts of Kerala
After Independence, several smaller states alongwith Travancore and Cochin state were grouped together to form Travancore-Cochin state. On 1 November 1956, the Malabar region was intregated into Travancore-Cochin state to form the present Kerala state after States Reorganisation Act 1956.

As of now, Kerala is divided into 14 districts and on the basis of geographic complexities, these districts are grouped into three regions. These are 1. North Kerala comprising of Kasaragod, Kannur, Wayanad, Kozhikode, Malappuram; 2. Central Kerala comprising of Palakkad, Thrissur, Ernakulam, Idukki; and 3. South Kerala comprising of Kottayam, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Thiruvananthapuram.

For administrative purpose, these 14 districts are further divided into 77 taluks, 152 community development blocks and 941 gram panchayats.

Historical Facts about Districts of Kerala
  1. It should be noted that there were only five districts, Malabar, Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Kottayam and Thrissur, at the time of Kerala formation in 1956.
  2. On 1 January 1957, Kozhikode, Palakkad and Kannur were carved out of Malabar and Alappuzha was carved out of Kottayam and Kollam districts.
  3. On 1 April 1958, Ernakulam distict was carved out of Thrissur and Kottayam.
  4. On 16 June 1969, Malappuram formed out by joining taluks of Kozhikode and Palakkad districts.
  5. On 26 January 1972, Idukki formed out of Kottayam and Ernakulam.
  6. On 1 November 1980, Wayanad became 12th district of Kerala after taking out parts of Kozhikode and Kannur districts.
  7. Two year later, on 1 November 1982, Pathanamthitta was carved out of Kollam, Alappuzha and Idukki districts.
  8. Lastly, Kasaragod was carved out of Kannur on 24 May 1984 as the 14th district of the state.

Statistical Facts about Districts of Kerala
  1. Kasragod is the youngest district of Kerala. It was formed on 24 May 1984 by carving a large portion of Kollam.
  2. According to 2011 population census, Malappuram is the biggest district of Kerala whereas Wayanad is the smallest district of Kerala by population.
  3. In terms of total area (land cover), Palakkad with total area of 4480 sq km is the largest district of Kerala whereas Alappuzha with the total land cover of 1414 sq km is the smallest district of Kerala.
  4. In terms of population density, Thrissur is the most densely populated district of Kerala whereas Kottayam is the least dense district of Kerala.

DistrictEstablishedPopulationAreaPopulation Density
Kollam1 July 19492,629,7032,491 sq. km1,056/sq. km
Thrissur1 July 19493,110,327 3,032 sq. km1,026/sq. km
Kottayam1 July 19491,979,384 2,208 sq. km896/sq. km
Thiruvananthapuram1 July 19493,307,2842,192 sq. km1,509/sq. km
Kannur 1 January 19572,525,637 2,966 sq. km852/sq. km
Kozhikode1 January 19573,089,543 2,344 sq. km1,318/sq. km
Palakkad1 January 19572,810,892 4,480 sq. km627/sq. km
Alappuzha17 Augusst 19572,121,943 1,414 sq. km1,501/sq. km
Ernakulam1 April 19583,279,860 2,407 sq. km1,069/sq. km
Malappuram16 June 19694,110,956 3,550 sq. km1,158/sq. km
Idukki26 January 19721,107,4534,358 sq. km254/sq. km
Wayanad1 November 1980816,558 2,131 sq. km383/sq. km
Pathanamthitta1 November 19821,195,5372,637 sq. km453/sq. km
Kasaragod24 May 19841,302,6001,992 sq. km654/sq. km
Total33,387,677 38,863 sq. km859.11/sq. km

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post