Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission (HPPSC)

Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission (HPPSC)
When Himachal Pradesh attained statehood on 25th January, 1971, Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) was discharged from the function of Public Service Commission under Article 315 of Constitution of India. Henceforth, it became necessary for Himachal Pradesh to establish a State Public Service Commission. However, on a request from the Governor of Himachal Pradesh with the approval of the President of India, UPSC agreed to serve the needs of newly formed state for next three months from 25th January, 1971.

Consequently, Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission (HPPSC) was formed on 8th April, 1971 with a notification from Governor of Himachal Pradesh by virtue of the power vested in him under Article 318.

Initially, Commission had a Chairman and two members. However, the the strength of members were increased from two to four in 1985. At present, the Commission recruits for Class-I & Class-II posts of different departments in Government of Himachal Pradesh. The Commission is also required to advise on all other matter related to recruitment, promotion, transfer and welfare of the civil servants.

Lt. General (Retd.) K. S. Katoch was the first chairman of the Commission. Hans Raj Mahajan and PC Stokes were first two members of the Commission. As of now, Maj. Gen. (Retd) DVS Rana is the Chairman of the Commission.
Previous Post Next Post