Arjuna Award 2019 (List of Winners)

Arjuna Award 2019 (List of Winners)
Arjuna Award 2019 (List of Winners)
The Arjuna Award is the second highest Indian sporting award after Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. It was started in 1961 and is named after Arjuna, a mythological character from the great Indian epic Mahabharata. The prestigious award carries a cash prize of 5 lakh indian rupee, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

The 2019 Arjun Award will be presented to 19 players alongwith Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dhyanchand Award and Dronacharya Award on 25 September 2019 by the President of India at Rashtrapati Bhavan, Delhi.

Selection Procedure
The awardees are selected by 12 member committee consisting of a Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports nominated Chairman, four Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Arjuna Award winners, 3 sports related experts, 1 paraolympian or para sports expert, and three other officials. A point based system is used for selecting awardees which is based upon performance of sportsperson and merit of the competition.

List of Arjuna Award 2019 Winners

Name of the AwardeeSports
Ravindra JadejaCricket
Mohammed Anas YahiyaAthletics
Gurpreet Singh SandhuFootball
Sonia LatherBoxing
Chinglensana Singh KangujamHockey
S BhaskaranBodybuilding
Ajay ThakurKabaddi
Anjum MoudgilShooting
Bhamidipati Sai PraneethBadminton
Tajinder Pal Singh ToorAthletics
Pramod BhagatPara sports-badminton
Harmeet Rajul DesaiTable Tennis
Pooja DhandaWrestling
Fouaad MirzaEquestrian
Simran Singh ShergillPolo
Poonam YadavCricket
Swapna BurmanAthletics
Sundar Singh GurjarPara sports-athletics
Gaurav Singh GillMotorsports

Also Read: Arjuna Award 2018

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post