Gandhi Peace Prize (List of Winners 1995-2018)

Gandhi Peace Prize (List of Winners 1995-2018)
The International Gandhi Peace Prize or more simply known as the Gandhi Peace Prize is an award given to an individual or organisation for their contribution to social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.

The award was instituted by the Government of India to commemorate the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi in 1995. The award carries a purse of One crore Indian rupees, a plaque, and a citation.

Quick Facts
First Awardee: Julius Kambarage (1995)
First Indian Awardee: Ramakrishna Mission (1998)
First Indian Awardee (Individual): Baba Amte (1999)
Last Awardee: Yōhei Sasakawa (2018)

Julius Kambarage Nyerere was the first person to win the prestigious award for his non-violent approach to achieve the Tanganyika (part of Modern Tanzania) freedom. He won the 1960's Tanganyika General Election, became Prime Minister, and negotiated the terms of the independence. Due to his efforts, Tanganyika got its freedom in 1962. He later became the first president of free Tanganyika. Due to his efforts, Tanganyika and Zanzibar got united to become modern-day Tanzania.

There was no award given in the period of 2006-12. In 2013 and 2014, it was given to Chandi Prasad Bhat and Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), but again, there was no announcement about the award since 2015. It was speculated, the award is discontinued until the Government of India announced Gandhi Peace Prize for 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018 jointly.

List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners

1995    Julius Nyerere
1996    A. T. Ariyaratne
1997    Gerhard Fischer
1998    Ramakrishna Mission
1999    Baba Amte
2000    Nelson Mandela and Grameen Bank
2001    John Hume
2002    Bhartiya Vidya Bhavan
2003    Vaclav Havel
2004    Coretta Scott King
2005    Desmond Tutu
2013    Chandi Prasad Bhatt
2014    ISRO
2015    Vivekanand Kendra
2016    Akshaya Patra Foundation and Sulabh International
2017    Ekal Abhiyan Trust
2018    Yōhei Sasakawa
Previous Post Next Post