Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners (1991-2019)

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards 2018
The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest sporting award of India. The award is named after Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India. It is given by Ministy of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

The award was instituded in 1991-92 and the Chess Grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand was the first recepient of the prestigious award. In 2001, Abhinav Bindra (at the age of 18) became the youngest person to recieve the Khel Ratna award. In 2018, Virat Kohli and S. Mirabai Chanu received the award. In 2019, Deepa Malik and Bajrang Punia are nominated for the prestigious Khel Ratna Award.

The award recepients are selected by a committee consituted by the Ministry and honored for their  "spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years" at the international level.

It is interesting to note that the shooting has highest number of awardees, nine in total, followed by Cricket, Weightlifting, Athlectics and Badminton, three each.

Selection Procedure For Award

First, nominations are made by government authorised sports federations. The previous awardees can also nominate a candidate in their respective discipline. Then the nominations are sent to National Antidoping Agency for scrunity. After clearance, the nominations are presented before a 12 member committee. The final recommendation list is prepared by a point system, based on performance and and standard of events. The recommendations are submitted to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for further approval.

List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards Winners along with their Disciplines

1991-92Vishwanathan AnandChess
1992-93Geet SethiBilliards
1993-94Homi MotivalaYachting
1993-94Pushpendra Kumar GargYachting
1994-95Karnam MalleswariWeightlifting
1995-96Nameirakpam KunjaraniWeightlifting
1996-97Leander PaesTennis
1997-98Sachin TendulkarCricket
1998-1999Jyotirmoyee SikdarAthletics
1999-2000Dhanraj PillayHockey
2000-2001Pullela GopichandBadminton
2001-2002Abhinav BindraShooting
2002-2003K.M BeenamolAthletics
2002-2003Anjali BhagwatShooting
2003Anju Bobby GeorgeAthletics
2004Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreShooting
2005Pankaj AdvaniBilliards and Snooker
2006Manavjit Singh SandhuShooting
2007Mahendra Singh DhoniCricket
2009Mary KomBoxing
2009Vijender SinghBoxing
2009Sushil KumarWrestling
2010Saina NehwalBadminton
2011Gagan NarangShooting
2012Vijay KumarShooting
2012Yogeshwar DuttShooting
2013Ranjan SodhiShooting
2015Sania MirzaTennis
2016PV SindhuBadminton
2016Deepa KarmakarGymnastics
2016Jitu RaiShooting
2016Sakshi MalikWresting
2017Devendra JhajhariaParalympic Athletics
2017Sardara SinghHockey
2018Saikhom Mirabai ChanuWeightlifting
2018Virat KohliCricket
2019Deepa MalikParalympic Athletics
2019Bajrang PuniaWrestling
Previous Post Next Post