List of female Indian Governors

List of female Indian Governors
Sarojini Naidu: First Female Indian Governor
In India, the Governor is the constitutional head of the state. The governor is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the President's pleasure.

The governor is de jure head of the state government; all its executive actions are taken in the governor's name. However, the governor must act on the advice of the popularly elected council of ministers, headed by the chief minister, who thus hold de facto executive authority at the state-level.

The union territories of Andaman and Nicobar, Delhi and Puducherry are headed by lieutenant-governors, whereas union territories of Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Lakshdweep are headed by Administrators.

Sarojini Naidu was the first female to become the governor of an Indian state. She governed Uttar Pradesh from 15 August 1947 to 2 March 1949.

Padmaja Naidu, daughter of Sarojini Naidu, is the longest-serving governor with 11-year tenure in West Bengal

In 2007, Pratibha Patil who was the governor of Rajasthan from 8 November 2004 to 23 June 2007 became first female President of India.

Currently, Mridula Sinha, Draupadi Murmu, Kiran Bedi, Najma Heptulla, Anandiben Patel, and Baby Rani Maurya are working Governors of different Indian states.

NameTook ChargeLeft ChargeTermState
Sarojini Naidu15-Aug-472-Mar-491 year, 199 daysUttar Pradesh
Padmaja Naidu3-Nov-5631-May-6710 years, 209 daysWest Bengal
Vijayalakshmi Pandit28-Nov-6218-Oct-641 year, 325 daysMaharashtra
Sharda Mukherjee5-May-7714-Aug-781 year, 101 daysAndhra Pradesh
Jyothi Venkatachalam14-Oct-7727-Oct-825 years, 13 daysKerala
Sharda Mukherjee14-Aug-785-Aug-834 years, 356 daysGujarat
Kumudben Manishankar Joshi26-Nov-852-Feb-904 years, 68 daysAndhra Pradesh
Ram Dulari Sinha23-Feb-8812-Feb-901 year, 354 daysKerala
Sarla Grewal31-Mar-895-Feb-90311 daysMadhya Pradesh
Chandrawati19-Feb-9018-Dec-90302 daysPuducherry
Rajendra Kumari Bajpai2-May-9522-Apr-982 years, 355 daysPuducherry
Sheila Kaul17-Nov-9523-Apr-96158 daysHimachal Pradesh
Fathima Beevi25-Jan-971-Jul-014 years, 157 daysTamil Nadu
V. S. Ramadevi26-Jul-971-Dec-992 years, 128 daysHimachal Pradesh
Rajani Rai23-Apr-9829-Jul-024 years, 97 daysPuducherry
V. S. Ramadevi2-Dec-9920-Aug-022 years, 261 daysKarnataka
Pratibha Patil8-Nov-0423-Jun-072 years, 227 daysRajasthan
Prabha Rau19-Jul-0824-Jan-101 year, 189 daysHimachal Pradesh
Margaret Alva6-Aug-0914-May-122 years, 262 daysUttarakhand
Kamla Beniwal27-Nov-096-Jul-144 years, 221 daysGujarat
Prabha Rau25-Jan-1026-Apr-1091 daysRajasthan
Urmila Singh25-Jan-1027-Jan-155 years, 2 daysHimachal Pradesh
Margaret Alva12-May-127-Aug-142 years, 87 daysRajasthan
Sheila Dikshit11-Mar-1425-Aug-14167 daysKerala
Kamla Beniwal6-Jul-146-Aug-1431 daysMizoram
Mridula Sinha*31-Aug-14Incumbent4 years, 29 daysGoa
Draupadi Murmu*18-May-15Incumbent3 years, 134 daysJharkhand
Kiran Bedi*29-May-16Incumbent2 years, 123 daysPuducherry
Najma Heptulla*21-Aug-16Incumbent2 years, 39 daysManipur
Anandiben Patel*23-Jan-18Incumbent249 daysMadhya Pradesh
Baby Rani Maurya*26-Aug-18Incumbent34 daysUttarakhand
*currently serving, data is at the time of publication
Previous Post Next Post