Padma Bhushan Award 2018 Winners

Padma Bhushan Award 2018 Winners
Padma Bhushan Award 2018 Winners
Padma Bhushan is the third highest civilian award of the Republic of India, preceded by the Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan. The Padma Bhushan is followed by Padma Shri which is the fourth highest civilian award. It was instituted in 1954 and given for distinguished service of high order.

As of 2018, the award has been conferred upon 1241 individuals including 20 posthumous and 94 non-Indians.

The awards were briefly suspended from 1977 to 1980 and 1992 to 1995.

Sisir Kumar Bhaduri, a Bengali theatre activist was the first awardee who refused the conferment.

Romila Thapar is the first person who declined to accept the award twice.

Kannada novelist K. Shivaram Karanth who was honoured in 1968 returned his award in protest of Emergency declared in 1975.

List of 2018 Padma Bhushan Award Winners

Pankaj AdvaniSportsKarnataka
Philipose Mar ChrysostomOthersKerala
Mahendra Singh DhoniSportsJharkhand
Alexander KadakinPublic AffairsRussia
Ramachandran NagaswamyOthersTamil Nadu
Ved Prakash NandaLiterature & EducationUnited States
Laxman PaiArtsGoa
Arvind ParikhArtsMaharashtra
Sharda SinhaArtsBihar
Previous Post Next Post