Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony (List of Winners 2012-2016)

Tagore Award/Image Credit: The Daily Star
Tagore Award or Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony is an annual award instituted by the Government of India to mark the 150th Birth Anniversary of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore in 2011. The prestigious award is is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or gender. The award carries a cash purse of One Crore Rupees, a Citation, a Plaque and an exquisite traditional handmade shawl.

Pandit Ravishankar was the first person to receive the award. He was awarded posthumously and award was collected by his wife. Ram Vanji Sutar is the last person to win this prestigious award for year 2016. He was awarded by the President of India in October 2018. He is known for more than 50 monumental sculptures including Statue of Unity.

2012 Pandit Ravi ShankarIndiaHindustani classical musician
2013 Zubin MehtaIndiaWestern classic musician
2014 Rajkumar Singhajit SinghIndiaA leading exponent of Manipuri Dance
2015 ChhayanautBangladeshAn organisation dedicated to preserve Bengali culture
2016 Ram Vanji SutarIndiaKnown for designing Statue of Unity and other sculptures

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post