JC Daniel Award (List of Winners 1992-2018)

JC Daniel Award (List of Winners 1992-2018)
JC Daniel Award (List of Winners 1992-2018)
J.C. Daniel is considered to be the highest award in the Malayalam Cinema. It is conferred by the Kerala State Film Academy (Kerala State Chalachitra Academy) to a person for their "outstanding contributions to Malayalam cinema". The Award was established way back in 1992 after JC Daniel Nadar, who is considered as the father of Malayalam Cinema. TE Vasudevan was the first person to win the prestigious JC Daniel Award for 1992. Aranmula Ponnamma became the fist woman to win the prestigious award by claiming the JC Daniel Award for 2005. As of 2019, Malayali actress Sheela became the 26th person to receive the J.C. Daniel Award.

List of JC Daniel Award Winners

1992 T E Vasudevan Distributor, producer
1993 Thikkurissy Sukumaran Nair Actor, director, screenwriter, lyricist
1994 P Bhaskaran Lyricist, director
1995 Abhayadev Lyricist
1996 A Vincent Cinematographer, director
1997 K Raghavan Composer
1998 V Dakshinamoorthy Composer
1999 G Devarajan Composer
2000 M Krishnan Nair Director
2001 P N Menon Director, art director
2002 K J Yesudas Playback singer
2003 No award given
2004 Madhu Actor, director, producer
2005 Aranmula Ponnamma Actress
2006 Mankada Ravi Varma Cinematographer, director
2007 P Ramdas Director
2008 K Ravindran Nair Producer
2009 K S Sethumadhavan Director, screenwriter
2010 Navodaya Appachan Producer, director
2011 Jose Prakash Actor, singer
2012 J Sasikumar Director
2013 M T Vasudevan Nair Screenwriter, director
2014 I V Sasi Director, screenwriter
2015 K G George Screenwriter, director
2016 Adoor Gopalakrishnan Director, screenwriter
2017 Sreekumaran Thampi Lyricist, director, screenwriter, producer
2018 Sheela Actress, director, screenwriter

Jose Prakash is the only person to receive the JC Daniel Award posthumously. He died one day after the award announcement. On his behalf, his son accepted the award.

Addtionally, there was no award given for the year 2003.

The JC Daniel award is considered the Kerala State equivalent of  Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post