Physiographic Divisions of Rajasthan

Physiographic Divisions of Rajasthan Map
Physiographic Divisions of Rajasthan
Rajasthan is the largest Indian state in terms of size. It is sprawled over the area of 342239 square kilometer. For comparision, it has roughly similar size to the Republic of Congo. However, it shows a much more variant physiography than the Republic of Congo or any other Indian state. It is part of some of the oldest landmasses on the earth such as Gondwana land and tethys sea. On the basis of present conditions, the land of Rajasthan can be divided into four regions. These are

1. Western Sandy Plains
2. Aravalli Range and Hilly Region
3. Eastern Plains
4. South-eastern Rajasthan Pathar

Western Sandy Plains
The Western Sandy Plains can be divided into two regions. These two regions can be subdivided into 6 sub-regions. These regions are

1. Sandy Arid Plain
1.1. Marusthali
1.2. Dune free Tracts

2. Semi-Arid Basin or Rajasthan Bangar
2.1. Luni Basin
2.2. Shekhawati
2.3. Nagaur Uplands
2.4. Ghaggar Plains

Aravalli Range And Hilly Region
Aravalli Range And Hilly Region on the basis of drainage pattern can be divided into four major regions.
1. The North-eastern Hill Tracts (also known as Alwar Hills)
2. The Central Arvalli Range
3. The Mewar Rocky Region and Bhorat Plateau
4. Abu Block Mountain Region

Eastern Plains
Eastern Plains can be divided into three major regions. These are
1. Chambal Basin
2. Banas Basin
3. Central Mahi Basin

South-eastern Rajasthan Pathar

Also known as Hadauti Plateau, this region can be divided into two major regions. These are
1. Deccan highlands
2. Vindhyan kaagar region
Previous Post Next Post