List of Chief Ministers of Kerala

Pinarayi Vijayan, Chief Minister of Kerala
The Chief Minister of Kerala is the executive head of the Indian state of Kerala. He carries out the executive orders in the name of the nominative head, Governor of Kerala. The Chief Minister along with his cabinet is responsible to the Kerala state assembly.

The origin of the post lies in the origin of Kerala. Following independence, the princely states of Travancore and Cochin were merged to form Travancore-Cochin state in 1949. Later, Travancore-Cochin was reorganised on the basis of language, and it became modern day Kerala in 1956. In 1957, the first Kerala assembly election took place and EMS Namboodiripad became first elected Chief Minister of Kerala. Till now, twelve person has served as the Chief Minister of Kerala. K Karunakaran has served as the Chief Minister of Kerala for four times whereas EK Nayanar is the longest serving Chief Minister of Kerala with total tenure of 11 years, and 10 days. Pinarayi Vijayan is the current Chief Minister of Kerala.

S.No.NameTermParty Affiliation
#Prime Ministers of Travancore
1.Pattom A Thanu Pillai1948Indian National Congress
2.Parur TK Narayana Pillai1949Indian National Congress
#Prime Ministers of Cochin
1.Panampilly Govinda Menon1947
2.TK Nair1947-48
3.E Ikkanda Warrier1948-49
#Chief Ministers of Travancore-Cochin
1.Parur TK Narayana Pillai1949-51Indian National Congress
2.C Kesavan1951-52Indian National Congress
3.AJ John1952-54Indian National Congress
4.Pattom A Thanu Pillai1954-55Praja Socialist Party
5.Panampilly Govinda Menon1955-56Indian National Congress
#Chief Ministers of Kerala
1.EMS Namboodiripad1957-59Communist Party of India
2.Pattom A Thanu Pillai1960-62Praja Socialist Party
3.R Sankar1962-64Indian National Congress
4.EMS Namboodiripad1967-69Communist Party of India
5.C Achutha Menon1969-70Communist Party of India
6.C Achutha Menon1970-77Communist Party of India
7.K Karunakaran1977Indian National Congress
8.AK Antony1977-78Indian National Congress
9.PK Vasudevan Nair1978-79Communist Party of India
10.CH Mohammed Koya1979Indian Union Muslim League
11.EK Nayanar1980-81Communist Party of India (Marxist)
12.K Karunakaran1981-82Indian National Congress
13.K Karunakaran1982-87Indian National Congress
14.EK Nayanar1987-91Communist Party of India (Marxist)
15.K Karunakaran1991-95Indian National Congress
16.AK Antony1995-96Indian National Congress
17.EK Nayanar1996-2001Communist Party of India (Marxist)
18.AK Antony2001-04Indian National Congress
19.Oommen Chandy2004-06Indian National Congress
20.VS Achuthanandan2006-11Communist Party of India (Marxist)
21.Oommen Chandy2011-16Indian National Congress
22.Pinarayi Vijayan2016-Till dateCommunist Party of India (Marxist)

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post