Agroclimatic Zones of Maharashtra

Agroclimatic Zones of Maharashtra
Agroclimatic Zones of Maharashtra
Maharashtra is the second largest states of India after Rajasthan. The state falls under the Zone IX, namely, the Western Plateau and hills region. However, the state can be further divided into 9 agroclimatic zones at regional level on the basis of climate, relief and soil character.

The nine agroclimatic zones of Maharashtra are

Zone I
South Kokan Coastal Zone (or Very High Rainfall Zone with Laterite Soil)
Region: Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg Districts.
Average Rainfall: 3100 mm
Temperature: 20-30 °C
Soil: Laterite, acidic and poor in nitrogen and pottassium.
Major Crops: Rice
Fruit Crops: Mango, Coconut, Arecanut, Cashewnut

Zone II
North Kokan Coastal Zone (or Very high rainfall zone with non lateritic soils)
Region: Thane, Raigad
Average Rainfall: 2600 mm
Temperature: 22-30 °C
Soil: Coarse and shallow, rich in Nitrogen, poor in pottassium and potash.
Major crop: Rice
Fruit Crops: Banana, Chikoo
Note: 32% of land is under forest

Zone III
Western Ghat
Region: Hilly areas of Kolahapur, Satara, Pune, Ahmednagar and Nasik; and a small part of Sindhudurg district.
Rainfall: 3000-6000 mm
Temperature: 30-40 °C
Soil: Light laterite and reddish brown, acidic, low in phosphorus.
Major Crops: Rice Ragi, Jowar
Fruit Crops: Mango, Cashewnut, Jackfruit, Jamun

Zone IV
Tansition Zone I (Or Sub Montane Zone)
Region: Parts of Nasik, Pune, Satara, Sangli and Kolhapur
Rainfall: 700-2500 mm
Temperature: 28-35 °C
Soil: Reddish brown to black, rich in nitrogen, poor in phosphorus and potash
Major Crops: Rice
Fruit Crops: Banana, Mango, Guava, Cashew, Grapes

Zone V
Transition Zone II (or Western Maharashtra Plains)
Region: Parts of Dhule, Ahmednagar, Nasik, Pune, Satara, and Kolhapur
Rainfall: 700-1200 mm
Temperature: 30-40 °C
Soil: Greyish black, alkaline, fair content of nitrogen, potash and pottassium.
Crops: Jowar, Bajra, Groundnut, Wheat, Sugarcane

Zone VI
Western Maharashtra Scarcity Zone
Region: Parts of Dhule, Nasik, Aurangabad, Ahmednagar, Pune, Satara, Solapur, Sangli
Rainfall: 500-750 mm
Temperature: 30-42 °C
Soil: Clayey, poor in nitrogen, low in phosphate and well supplied in potash.
Crops: Bajra, Jowar, Groundnut

Zone VII
Assured Rainfall Zone (or Central Maharashtra Plateau Zone)
Region: Latur, Buldhana, Parts of Aurangabad, Jalna, Beed, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Nanded, Amravati, Yavatmal, Solapur
Rainfall: 700-900 mm
Temperature: 30-40 °C
Soil: Clayey, red to black, slightly alkaline
Crops: Jowar, Bajra, Safflower

Central Vidarbha
Region: Wardha, major parts of Nagpur and Yavatmal, Parts of Chandrapur, Aurangabad, Jalna Parbhani, Nanded
Average Rainfall: 1130 mm
Temperature: 35-40 °C
Soil: Medium to deep black soil, alkaline
Crops: Cotton, Jowar, Tur, Wheat

Zone IX
Eastern Vidarbha
Region: Bhandara, Gadchiroli, and parts of Chandrapur and Nagpur.
Rainfall: 1300-1800 mm
Temperature: 20-37 °C
Soil: Brown to red, slightly acidic
Crops: Paddy, Pulses, Oilseeds

Note: Temperature is given for only summer season.

Department of Agriculture, Government of Maharashtra

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post