Agro-climatic Zones of Jharkhand

Agroclimatic Zones of Jharkhand
The state of Jharkhand falls under the Zone VII, namely Eastern Plateau and Hill Region, on the national level. However, it can be further divided into three agro-climatic regions: Central and North Eastern Plateau  (Zone I),  Western  Plateau  (Zone II)  and  South Eastern  Plateau  (Zone III) on the basis of climate, terrain and soil characterstics.

Zone I
Central and North Eastern Plateau
Districts covered: Chatra, Koderma, Hazaribag, Ramgarh, Bokaro, Dhanbad, Giridih, Deoghar, Dumka, Pakur, Godda, Jamtara, Sahibganj, Ranchi
Cropped Area: 851.05 thousand hectares
Irrigated Area to Cropped Area: 11.40%
Altitude: 275-670 m
Average Rainfall: 1270 mm
Temperature: 4.8-44.2 °C
Important Crops: Rice, Wheat, Maize, Ragi, Potato, Mustard-Rapeseeds Gram and Pulses.

Zone II
Western Plateau
Districts covered: Garhwa, Palamu, Latehar, Lohardaga, Simdega, Gumlaand, Khunti
Cropped Area: 670.03 thousand hectares
Irrigated Area to Cropped Area: 12.60%
Altitude: 222-1142 m
Average Rainfall: 1250 mm
Temperature: 5.3-43.6 °C
Important Crops: Rice, Maize, Barley, Pulses, Seasamum, Groundnut, Potato, Arhar and Gram.

Zone III
South Eastern Plateau
Districts covered: East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum and Saraikela-Kharsawan
Cropped Area: 289.05 thousand hectares
Irrigated Area to Cropped Area: 7.80%
Altitude: 250-1000 m
Average Rainfall: 1400 mm
Temperature: 6.6-44.0 °C
Important Crops: Rice, Wheat, Linseed, Marwa, Arhar and Linseeds.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post