List of Governors of West Bengal

List of Governors of West Bengal
List of Governors of West Bengal
The Governor of West Bengal is the constitutional head of the Indian state of West Bengal. He is appointed by the President of India and holds office at the President's pleasure.

Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari served as the Governor of West Bengal at the time of Independence of India.

Padmaja Naidu was the first female Governor of West Bengal. She was the longest serving woman Governor of any state. Alongwith her mother Sarojini Naidu, she creates a unique pairing of Mother-Daughter who has served as Governor of any Indian state. Sarojini Naidu was the first female Governor of any Indian State. She headed the United Province, now known as Uttar Pradesh.

Keshari Nath Tripathi is the current Governor of West Bengal. He took the charge of the office on 24 July 2014.

#NameTook ChargeLeft Charge
1Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari (acting)15 August 194721 June 1948
2Kailash Nath Katju21 June 19481 November 1951
3Harendra Coomar Mookerjee1 November 19518 August 1956
4Phani Bhusan Chakravartti8 August 19563 November 1956
5Padmaja Naidu3 November 19561 June 1967
6Dharma Vira1 June 19671 April 1969
7Deep Narayan Sinha (acting)1 April 196919 September 1969
8Shanti Swaroop Dhavan19 September 196921 August 1971
9Anthony Lancelot Dias21 August 19716 November 1979
10Tribhuvana Narayana Singh6 November 197912 September 1981
11Bhairab Dutt Pande12 September 198110 October 1983
12Anant Prasad Sharma10 October 198316 August 1984
13Satish Chandra (acting)16 August 19841 October 1984
14Uma Shankar Dikshit1 October 198412 August 1986
15Saiyid Nurul Hasan12 August 198620 March 1989
16T. V. Rajeswar20 March 19897 February 1990
17Saiyid Nurul Hasan7 February 199012 July 1993
18B. Satyanarayan Reddy (additional charge)13 July 199314 August 1993
19K. V. Raghunatha Reddy14 August 199327 April 1998
20Akhlaqur Rahman Kidwai (additional charge)27 April 199818 May 1999
21Shyamal Kumar Sen (acting)18 May 19994 December 1999
22Viren J. Shah4 December 199914 December 2004
23Gopalkrishna Gandhi14 December 200414 December 2009
24Devanand Konwar (additional charge)14 December 200919 December 2009
25M.K. Narayanan19 December 2009 (acting until January 2010)30 June 2014
26D. Y. Patil (acting charge)3 July 201417 July 2014
27Keshari Nath Tripathi24 July 2014Incumbent

Previous Post Next Post