Bharat Ratna (List of Winners 1954--2019)

Bharat Ratna (List of Winners 1954--2018)
Bharat Ratna (List of Winners 1954--2018)
The Bharat Ratna Award (officially Bharat Ratna Samman) is the highest civilian award given by the Government of India. The name literally means 'the Jewel of India'. It was instituted in 1954 for the recognition of exceptional service of the highest order and was limited to the field of arts, literature, science, and public services, but the scope was widened to include every field of human endeavor in 2011.

The recommendations are made by the Prime Minister of India to the President of India with a maximum limit of three recommendations each year. The award recipients receive a Sanad (certificate), and a peepal leaf shaped medallion. There is no monetary grant associated with this award.

The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were C. Rajagopalchari, S. Radhakrishnan, and C.V. Raman. Since then 48 individuals have received the award for their outstanding contribution in their respective field.

In 1958, Dhondho Keshav Karve received the prestigious award at the age of 100, making him the oldest Bharat Ratna Samman recipient till date.

In 1965, the Second Prime Minister of India Lal Bahadur Shashtri became first person to receive the Bharat Ratna award posthumously.

In 1980, Mother Teresa became first naturalized Indian to receive the Bharat Ratna Samman.

In 1987, Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan becomes the first non-Indian person to receive the highest honour of India.

In 1990, Nelson Mandela became the second non-Indian person to win this award.

In 2014, Sachin Tendulkar became the first sportsman to receive Bharat Ratna award. He is also the youngest person to receive the honour.

In 2019, Pranab Mukherjee (the 13th President of India), Bhupen Hazarika and Nanaji Deshmukh have won the prestigious Bharat Ratna Award. Bhupen Hazarika and Nanaji Deshmukh have been awarded posthumously.

Sachin Tendulkar, Lata Mangeshkar, Amartya Sen, CNR Rao and Pranab Mukherjee are the living Bharat Ratnas. Bharat Ratna recipients rank seventh in order of the precedence of India.

1954C Rajagopalachari
1954Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
1954Dr. CV Raman
1955Dr. Bhagwan Das
1955Dr. M Visvesvaraya
1955Jawaharlal Nehru
1957Govind Ballabh Pant
1958Dr. Dhondo Keshav Karve
1961Dr.Bidhan Chandra Roy
1961Shri Purushottam Das Tandon
1962Dr. Rajendra Prasad
1962Dr. Zakir Husain
1963Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane
1966Lal Bahadur Shastri (posthumous)
1971Smt. Indira Gandhi
1975V.V. Giri
1976K. Kamaraj(posthumous)
1980Mother Teresa
1983Acharya Vinoba Bhave
1987Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
1988MG Ramachandran
1990Dr. B. R. Ambedkar
1990Nelson Mandela
1991Rajiv Gandhi (posthumous)
1991Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (posthumous)
1991Morarji Desai
1992Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (posthumous)
1992JRD Tata
1992Satyajit Ray
1997Gulzarilal Nanda
1997Aruna Asaf Ali (posthumous)
1997Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam
1998MS Subbulakshmi
1998Chidambaram Subramaniam
1999Jayaprakash Narayan (posthumous)
1999Amartya Sen
1999Gopinath Bordoloi (posthumous)
1999Pandit Ravi Shankar
2001ShushriLata Mangeshkar
2001Ustad Bismillah Khan
2009Pandit Bhimsen Joshi
2014CNR Rao
2014Sachin Tendulkar
2015Madan Mohan Malaviya (posthumous)
2015Atal Bihari Vajpayee
2019Pranab Mukherjee
2019Bhupen Hazarika (posthumous)
2019Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumous)
Previous Post Next Post