First in Himachal Pradesh (People, Regions, and Others Facts)

First in Himachal Pradesh/Image: Parvati River by JJ George
First Chief Commissioner of Himachal Pradesh:    N.C. Mehta (I.C.S)
First Chief Secretary of Himachal Pradesh:    K.L. Mehta (I.C.S)
First Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh High Court:    Lt. Justice Hamidulah Beg
First Woman Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh High Court:    Leela Seth
First Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh:    Dr. Yashwant Singh Parmar
First Member of Rajya Sabha from Himachal Pradesh: Chiranji Lal Verma
First Woman Minister in the Union Cabinet: Rajkumar Amrit Kaur
First Chairman of HP Administrative Tribunal: Justice Hira Singh Thakur
First Education Minister of Himachal Pradesh: K.L. Sethi
First Governor of Himachal Pradesh: S. Chakravati
First Woman Governor of Himachal Pradesh: Sheela Kaul
First Speaker of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha: Jaiwant Ram
First Woman Speaker of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha: Vidya Stokes
First Deputy Speaker of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha: Krishna Chander
First Person from Himachal Pradesh to become Chief Justice of India: Justice Mehar Chand Mahajan
First Deputy Chief Commissioner of Himachal Pradesh: E. P. Moon
First Lokayukta of Himachal Pradesh: Justice T.V.R. Tatachari
First Lt. Governor of Himachal Pradesh: Major General Himmat Singh

Award Winners
First Winner of Param Vir Chakra: Major Somnath Sharma
First Winner of Mahavir Chakra: Lt. Col. Karan Singh
First Winner of Vir Chakra: Havildar Topge
First Winner of the Police Medal: Gangvir Singh
First National Teacher Award Winner: Prakash Chand
First Parshuram Award Recipient: Suman Rawat
First Padma Vibhushan Award Winner: Braj Kumar Nehru
First Himachali to climb Mount Everest: Sunil Sharma
Youngest Girl to Scale Mount Everest: Dicky Dolma
First Himachali recipient of Victoria Cross: Jamadar Lal Ram

First Agriculture College in Himachal Pradesh: Chambaghat
First Private University in Himachal Pradesh: Jaypee University of Information Technology, Waknaghat (Solan)
First Vice-Chancellor of Horticulture University, Nauni (Solan): Dr. M. R. Thakur
First Vice-Chancellor of Agriculture University, Palampur (Kangra): Dr. Het Ram Kalia

First Five Year Plan: 1951-1956
First Lok Sabha Election was held in Himachal Pradesh: 1952
First Vidhan Sabha of Himachal Pradesh: November 1951

First Army Chief from Himachal Pradesh: Gen. V. N. Sharma

First Himachali to represent in Olympics: Charanjit Singh (Hockey)
First Himachali Sportsperson to win Khel Ratna: Vijay Kumar (Shooting)

Oldest Democratic State (Region) in India: Malana (Distt. Kullu)
Oldest Princely State of Himachal Pradesh: Trigarta (Kangra)
First Mughal Ruler of Kangra: Akbar
First Railway Line in Himachal Pradesh: Kalka–Shimla (9 November 1903)
First Pucca House in Shimla: Kennedy House (1822 A.D.)
First Governor General to Visit Shimla: Lord Amherst (1827 A.D.)
Oldest Newspaper of Himachal Pradesh: Kshetriya Tej

Fist Hydro Electric Project with underground switch yard: Sanjay Vidyut Pariyojna (Kinnaur)
First Chairman of Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission (HPPSC): Lt. Gen. K. S. Katoch
First Chairman of Himachal Pradesh Subordinate Services Selection Board (HPSSSB):    Sh. K.C. Malhotra
First Heritage City of Himachal Pradesh: Mandi
First Village to earn Heritage Status in India/Himachal Pradesh: Pragpur (1997)
First Private Radio Station: 95.0 Big FM, Shimla
First Smoke-Free City of Himachal Pradesh: Shimla
First Hydro-electric Power Station in Himachal Pradesh/India/Asia in Megawatt Capicity: Shanan Power House, Joginder Nagar, Mandi
Previous Post Next Post